Mar 12, 2014
Reading time
2 minutes
Download the article
Click here to print
Text size
aA+ aA-

CFDA reveals 2014 nominees

Mar 12, 2014

The Council of Fashion Designers of America has announced the nominees for the 2014 CFDA Fashion Awards, an event honoring American fashion talent. The awards will be held at the Lincoln Center on June 2nd with film director and screenwriter John Waters as host.

The 2014 Swarovski Award Nominees with Nadja Swarovski

Alexander Wang, Joseph Altuzarra and Marc Jacobs have been nominated for Womenswear Designer of the Year. Up for the menswear award are Maxwell Osborne & Dao-Yi Chow for Public School, Marcus Wainwright & David Neville for Rag & Bone and Thom Browne. Alexander Wang, Lazaro Hernandez & Jack McCullough for Proenza Schouler and Mary-Kate Olsen & Ashley Olsen for The Row will all compete for the title of Accessories Designer of the Year.

Shane Gabier & Christopher Peters for Creatures of the Wind, Rosie Assoulin, and Wes Gordon have been nominated for the Swarovski Award for Womenswear. The nominees for the Swarovski Award for Menswear are Tim Coppens, Todd Snyder, and Shayne Oliver for Hood by Air. For the Swarovski Award for Accessory Design, the nominees are Irene Neuwirth, Jennifer Fisher, and Marc Alary.

The Swarovski Award recipients in each category will receive generous financial support from Swarovski as well as exposure to the company’s vast and innovative Swarovski crystal resources.

The honorary awards go to a diverse group of fashion luminaries. The Geoffrey Beene Lifetime Achievement Award, named for the fiercely independent, four-time CFDA Fashion Award winner, will be presented to Tom Ford.

The International Award will go to Raf Simons for his creative contribution to the international fashion stage.

“The CFDA Fashion Awards are a fashion institution. It is an evening that not only celebrates all generations of American design talent, but also reinforces our industry’s growing influence across the globe,” said Steven Kolb, CFDA CEO.

Nominations for each award category are submitted by the CFDA Fashion Awards Guild, made up of the 450+ members of the CFDA, along with top fashion retailers, journalists, and stylists. The nominees, as well as recipients of the honorary awards, were confirmed earlier today at a meeting of the CFDA Board of Directors.

Copyright © 2023 FashionNetwork.com All rights reserved.